What is reverse logistics?

Understanding the different practices in logistics means, in particular, understanding what reverse logistics or "returns logistics" is. This term, although not necessarily new to logistics professionals and companies, has increasingly become part of professional language as an important component of flow control.

We will go into the deeper meaning of this product return logistics and we will then be able to discover the whole process that it can encompass. Then we will be able to study this through the prism of concrete examples applied within the supply chain. Finally, we will see the advantages and limitations of this reverse logistics in order to maintain a critical appreciation.

What is reverse logistics?-1

Reverse logistics, a sense in reverse logic

In order to understand what reverse logistics is, let us start with logistics in the broadest sense. For a supplier, logistics consists of ensuring all the physical and information flows needed to supply a product of a given quality, within the agreed timeframe and at an established price, to its customer.

By simple inversion, returns logistics consists of controlling all the physical and information flows that ensure the return of a product from the customer to the supplier. The explanation is simple and does not require great linguistic skills to grasp its multiple ramifications.

Reverse logistics, a history that is neither ancient nor modern

Now that the definition has been established, let's look at the history of returns logistics, as well as its recent evolution. In two steps, we will be able to observe that these logistics already existed a few decades ago, but that, recently, they have had to evolve rapidly in order to cope with new sales techniques and changes in customer service, while ensuring waste management.

The beginnings of reverse logistics

Indeed, these product return logistics are not new. It is true that it is rare for goods to be sent from customers to their suppliers. However, this could happen for reasons related to the quality of the products in question:

  • intrinsically defective product;
  • product damaged by the transport company ;
  • non-conforming product due to ordering error ;
  • etc.

Clearly, we are talking about the exceptions that were part of a market with a tendency to flow downwards only (from supplier to customer). They were therefore quite rare and did not always justify considerable management of this "marginal" chain.

However, there were also a few rare channels in which return logistics solutions were present and not just the exceptions. In the not so distant past, we remember the deposit on glass bottles which, once returned to the shop, went for recycling, allowing the consumer to collect the deposit.

Recent developments in reverse logistics

For almost twenty years, e-commerce has reshuffled the deck in the market, by :

  • internationalising trade, even in low-value goods;
  • increasing competition between sellers in the same market;
  • enabling a new consumer experience for customers;
  • forcing the authorities to react on each other's trade obligations.

From now on, reverse logistics has become a necessity in view of the challenges that e-commerce has created in terms of increased accessibility for all economic players in a market that has become common.

What is reverse logistics?-2

Reverse logistics: a consequence of market evolution

Faced with these changes in production and consumption as well as in the legislative framework, reverse logistics has become a response by companies to market demands. It enables companies to meet their legal and moral obligations as well as the societal and responsible requirements of consumers and governments.

The notion of customer satisfaction

This is one of the major causes of the development of reverse logistics. Thanks to new consumption patterns and in particular the arrival of e-commerce, customer satisfaction is more than ever at the forefront of salespeople's concerns. Today, returning a purchase to the seller can sometimes even be done without justification, which was inconceivable until recently, before the rules were changed by the online sales giants.

This strategy has pushed the more traditional distribution channels (shops, convenience stores, etc.) to review their offer and sometimes to align themselves. Even the legislator has had to impose a 14-day withdrawal period to redress the balance. Today, a customer can have a product delivered and return it without even opening it on receipt and sometimes without having to bear even the transport costs.

Product quality control

Items can sometimes suffer from quality defects, even in large quantities or entire series. In such cases, a product recall may be required so that all defective items are returned to the manufacturer. It is important to realise what this entails: identifying the affected items among all the others, then tracking them down, retrieving them, collecting them and finally processing them.

This is a laborious task that requires a competent logistical reverse side that is equal to such an ambition. Moreover, within a strict legal framework (health, food, pharmacy, etc.), this is an obligation of result for companies.

Recycling and reprocessing channels

The importance of the environment in the concerns of all agents in a market, whoever they may be, forces each company to meticulously manage its product returns or the issue of their end of life cycle. The processes of destruction, recycling, revalorisation and treatment as waste must be thought through and are subject to obligations.

For example, the life cycle of WEEE requires manufacturers and retailers to integrate this reverse logistics into their manufacturing and marketing process.

The advantages and limitations of reverse logistics

As we have seen, reverse logistics refers to the management of the physical and information flows that "go up" from the customer to the manufacturer or retailer. Over the past few years, this returns logistics has gone from being marginal to considerable (almost 25% of downstream flows go upstream).

This refines the skills of companies in controlling their flows and forces them to constantly improve their flow management system or, failing that, to call on competent service providers to fulfil this role. In addition, returns logistics applied to end-of-life products is also an element of response to the environmental concerns that are very present in the markets and among consumers.

However, the evolution of such logistics suggests a certain consumer malaise. When you realise that almost 25% of downstream flows go upstream for various reasons, you can imagine all the transport, storage, handling and disputes that arise from such a figure.

Reverse logistics is a powerful tool that drives excellence, but care must be taken to ensure that the flows in a supply chain do not reverse to too great an extent, otherwise the advantages of returns logistics (environmental benefits, customer satisfaction, quality and cost control) may well be diminished or even cancelled out.

What are we to think of the quality of the articles, the control of flows, customer satisfaction or respect for the environment, when half of the products resold will return to the sender or his service providers? Reverse logistics is a skill that only retains its excellence in due proportion.

We recommend these other pages:

Qu’est-ce que la reverse logistique ?

Comprendre les différentes pratiques en logistique, c'est notamment comprendre ce qu’est la reverse logistique ou autrement nommée « logistique des retours ». Ce terme, bien que pas nécessairement nouveau auprès des professionnels et entreprises d’activités logistiques, s’est invité de plus en plus dans le langage professionnel comme étant une constituante importante de la maîtrise des flux.

Nous allons parcourir le sens plus profond de cette logistique du retour produit et nous pourrons alors découvrir l’ensemble des processus que cela peut englober. Ensuite, nous pourrons étudier cela par le prisme d’exemples concrets appliqués au sein de la Supply Chain. Enfin, nous verrons les avantages et les limites de cette logistique inversée pour pouvoir conserver une appréciation critique.

Qu'est-ce que la reverse logistique ?-1

La reverse logistique, un sens en logique inversée

Afin de bien saisir ce qu’est la reverse logistique, partons de ce qu’est la logistique au sens plus large. La logistique consiste pour un fournisseur à assurer l’ensemble des flux physiques et d’informations permettant de fournir un produit de qualité déterminée, dans les délais convenus et à un prix établi, à son client.

Par simple inversion, la logistique des retours consiste à maîtriser l’ensemble des flux physiques et d’informations permettant d’assurer le retour d’un produit du client vers le fournisseur. L’explication est simple et ne nécessite pas de grandes compétences linguistiques pour en saisir les ramifications multiples.

La reverse logistique, une histoire ni ancienne ni moderne

Maintenant que la définition est posée, interrogeons-nous sur l’histoire de cette logistique des retours, ainsi que sur sa récente évolution. En deux temps, nous pourrons observer que cette logistique existait déjà il y’a quelques décennies, mais que, récemment, elle a dû évoluer rapidement pour faire face aux nouvelles techniques de vente et aux évolutions du service client, tout en assurant la gestion des déchets.

Les débuts de la reverse logistique

En effet, cette logistique de retour produit n’est pas d’aujourd’hui. Il est vrai qu’il est rare que des marchandises partent des clients vers leur fournisseur. Cela pouvait advenir néanmoins pour des raisons liées à la qualité des produits en question :

  • produit défectueux de manière intrinsèque ;
  • produit endommagé par l’entreprise de transport ;
  • produit non conforme par erreur de commande ;
  • etc.

En clair, nous parlons là des exceptions qui s’inscrivaient sur un marché à tendance de flux descendants uniquement (du fournisseur vers le client). Elles étaient donc assez rares et ne justifiaient pas toujours une gestion considérable de cette chaîne « marginale ».

Mais, il existait également quelques rares filières au sein desquelles les solutions de logistique du retour étaient tout de même présentes et ne correspondaient pas uniquement aux exceptions. Dans un passé pas si lointain, souvenons-nous des consignes des bouteilles en verre qui, une fois ramenées en boutique, partaient pour le recyclage en permettant au consommateur de toucher le montant de la consigne.

Les récentes évolutions de la reverse logistique

Depuis près de vingt ans, le e-commerce a rebattu les cartes du marché, en :

  • internationalisant les échanges, même pour des marchandises de faible valeur ;
  • augmentant la mise en concurrence des vendeurs d’un même marché ;
  • permettant une nouvelle expérience de consommation aux clients ;
  • obligeant les autorités à réagir sur les obligations de chacun en matière d’échanges.

Désormais, la reverse logistique est devenue une nécessité face aux enjeux que le e-commerce à instauré en matière d’accessibilité accrue à tous les acteurs économiques d’un marché devenu commun.

Qu'est-ce que la reverse logistique ?-2

La reverse logistique : une conséquence de l’évolution du marché

Face à ces évolutions de production et de consommation ainsi que du cadre législatif, la reverse logistique est devenue une réponse des entreprises aux exigences du marché. Elle permet de satisfaire autant aux obligations légales et morales d’une entreprise qu’aux exigences sociétales et responsables des consommateurs et des états.

La notion de satisfaction client

C’est une des causes majeures du développement de la reverse logistique. Grâce aux nouveaux modes de consommation et notamment à l’arrivée du e-commerce, la satisfaction client est plus que jamais à la première place des préoccupations des vendeurs. Aujourd’hui, le retour d’un achat auprès du vendeur peut parfois même se passer de justification, ce qui était inconcevable il y’a encore peu de temps, avant que les règles ne soient bouleversées par des géants de la vente en ligne.

Cette stratégie a poussé les circuits de distribution plus classiques (magasins, enseignes de proximité, etc.) à revoir leur offre et parfois à s’aligner. Même le législateur a dû, pour rééquilibrer la balance, imposer le délai de rétractation de 14 jours. Aujourd’hui, un client peut se faire livrer un produit et le retourner sans même l’ouvrir à réception et parfois sans avoir à supporter ne serait-ce que les coûts de transport.

La maîtrise de la qualité produit

Les articles peuvent parfois subir des défauts de qualité, et ce même sur de grandes quantités ou des séries entières. Dans ce cas, un rappel produit doit parfois être effectué afin que tous les articles défectueux soient retournés au fabricant. Il faut bien réaliser ce que cela engendre : identifier les articles concernés parmi tous les autres, puis les retracer, les récupérer, les rassembler et enfin les traiter.

C’est un travail laborieux qui nécessite une reverse logistique compétente et à la hauteur d’une telle ambition. Par ailleurs, dans un cadre légal strict (sanitaire, alimentation, pharmacie, etc.), cela relève d’une obligation de résultat pour les entreprises.

Les filières de recyclage et de retraitement

L’importance de l’environnement au sein des préoccupations de tous les agents d’un marché, quels qu’ils soient, contraint chaque entreprise à une gestion méticuleuse de ses retours produits ou de la question de leur fin de cycle de vie. Les processus de destruction, de recyclage, de revalorisation et de traitement en tant que déchets doivent être réfléchis et sont soumis à des obligations.

Par exemple, le cycle de vie des DEEE impose aux industriels et revendeurs de bien intégrer toute cette reverse logistique au sein de leur processus de fabrication et de commercialisation.

Les avantages et limites de la reverse logistique

Comme nous avons pu le voir, la reverse logistique désigne la gestion des flux physiques et d’informations qui « remontent » du client vers le fabricant ou le revendeur. Au fur et à mesure des années qui viennent de s’écouler, cette logistique des retours est passée de marginale à considérable (près de 25 % des flux descendants remontent).

Cela permet d’affiner les aptitudes des entreprises en matière de contrôle de leurs flux et les contraint à toujours améliorer leur système de gestion de ces flux ou, à défaut, à faire appel à des prestataires compétents pour remplir ce rôle. Par ailleurs, la logistique des retours appliquée aux produits en fin de vie est également un élément de réponse aux préoccupations environnementales très présentes sur les marchés et chez les consommateurs.

Cependant, l’évolution d’une telle logistique laisse entrevoir un certain malaise consumériste. Lorsque l’on se rend compte que près de 25 % des flux descendants remontent pour des raisons diverses, on imagine donc tous les transports, stockages, manutentions et litiges qui découlent d’un tel chiffre.

La reverse logistique est un outil performant qui pousse à l’excellence, mais il faut veiller à ce que les flux d’une Supply Chain ne s’inversent pas en de trop grandes proportions, faute de quoi les avantages d’une logistique des retours (bénéfices pour l’environnement, satisfaction client, maîtrise de la qualité et des coûts) pourraient bien s’en voir diminués, voir annihilés.

Que faut-il penser de la qualité des articles, de la maîtrise des flux, de la satisfaction client ou du respect de l’environnement, lorsque la moitié des produits revendus reviendront vers l’expéditeur ou ses prestataires ? La reverse logistique est une compétence qui ne garde son excellence qu’à sa juste proportion.

Nous vous recommandons ces autres pages :